We are pleased to announce the completion of the first phase of the new picnic park located near mile marker 1 on the Sheepskin Trail.  The ribbon-cutting ceremony was celebrated on Saturday, April 24, 2021.  Approximately 100 attendees joined the Supervisors in dedicating the newest edition to our park family.  The park is a beautifully wooded rest area surrounded by nature and rippling brooks that come together forming a unique confluence providing a serene setting.  Our hope is that visitors take advantage of the tranquil area to reflect and enjoy the outdoors.  Visitors should welcome being away from electronics while sitting and appreciating wildlife.  Distinctive trail art provided by local students and artist, Carrie Attaway, completes the finishing touch to a restful, relaxing atmosphere.  The township will be adding exercise equipment and more benches and tables in the final phase.

wheelsribbonguysbike bikepicnic park

Robert Schiffbauer, tournament organizer,  is pleased to announce that South Union has surpassed the original fundraising goal of $40,000.  Thank you to those that have supported the township through donations and participation in the South Union Township First Charity Golf Tournament.  We appreciate your recognition in aiding us to help our youth.  The financial impact will ensure the success of the indoor sports complex.  As of April 28, 2021, we have raised $65,500.  Our community is only as strong as each of those that support us.  You have proven we are a PROGRESSIVE neighborhood.  Thank you!!!!


Voter Information

sut voting map letter

South Union Township includes the following three precincts:

  • South Union Township District No. 1 – Laurel Highlands Middle School
  • South Union Township District No. 2 – Hatfield Elementary School, Derrick Ave.
  • South Union Township District No. 3 – Hutchinson Elementary School, Mountain View Rd.

All residents of South Union Township are urged to register and exercise their right to vote. Voter registration forms and change of address forms can be obtained at the South Union Township Municipal Office.

 Registration Information

voter information

Registration must be completed thirty days before Election Day. Absentee ballots may be applied for up to sixty days but no later than one week before Election Day. All absentee ballots must be returned by the Friday before the actual voting day.

For more information about absentee ballots or other election questions, call the Fayette County Board of Elections at 724-430-1289.


Latest News